Posted in Culture, Family, Food, Friends & Family, Music, Technology

Ward’s and Wi-Fi

After my discipleship group this morning I went with a friend to eat breakfast. (BTW Reggie thanks for pick up the tab!) We ate here at a Southern established franchise – a Ward’s Restaurant. Most of you reading this will get what I’m talking about, but “Ward’s” (as it’s know by the locals) has been a part of my life as long as I can remember. As a kid, after every little-league baseball game, my family would stop off at Ward’s on the way home. Cleats, a baseball glove, red clay, misquote bites, and a “Ward’s Quarter” – all this brings back fond memories. And still to this day when I enter any Wards it takes me back to 1985. I keep waiting for “Roll On” to play in the background on their “sound system”. When you have names for you hamburgers like “The Big One” and the not so famous “Little One” you know you’re at the right place. Oh, yeah and the frosted mug! I guess they still do this, but they’d freeze a glass mug so that when they put your Mississippi Made Root-Beer in it, then it would frost up. (I may be headed back for lunch).

When I pulled into the parking lot this morning I realized that their building was next to some little coffee shop that may allow me to pick up a wireless signal on my laptop. And guess what, I could pick up a signal! The only problem was the “Hot Spot” wanted $10 for me to use it. Come on Ward’s, now that you have your own web page, you need to start offering Wi-Fi in your restaurants. And you know how most of us would like it? That’s right, Free with a bowl of Chili. Anyway all said and done I do feel like I’m the first man to have almost used the Web in a Ward’s Restaurant. I kind of feel like the first guy on the moon, or the first guy to the top of Everest. All the old guys reading their reading the paper and there I was, with my biscuit and my laptop. Life is good, here in Mississippi!

2 thoughts on “Ward’s and Wi-Fi

Join the Discussion